On Wednesday, Rep. Chip Roy (TX-21), alongside 48 of his Republican colleagues in the House and Senate, informed GOP leadership that they will refuse to fund the enforcement of COVID-19 vaccine mandates when government funding runs out later this month.

“Congressional Republicans must once again decide whether they will vote to fund a federal government that is enforcing tyrannical COVID-19 vaccine mandates on the American people,” Rep. Roy wrote in a letter to House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell.

Government funding will expire on February 18, 2022, unless Congress votes to extend it.

In his letter, Rep. Roy laid out the mandates’ adverse impact on Americans, and their inability to stop the pandemic. “The Biden administration has unilaterally imposed five separate COVID-19 vaccine mandates, four of which continue to directly impact millions of Americans,” his letter reads. “Medical workers, men and women in uniform, federal employees, and federal contractors could face termination if they do not receive a COVID-19 vaccine – even though evidence shows these vaccines do not prevent the spread of the virus.”

The letter also reiterated Congress’ duty to preserve Americans’ liberties and oppose vaccine mandates at any level of government.

“Congressional Republicans cannot continue to abdicate their Article I duties in hopes the judicial branch will rule in favor of the American people,” Rep. Roy concluded.

Cosigners include:

Sens. Rand Paul, M.D. (KY), Ron Johnson (WI), Ted Cruz (TX), Michael S. Lee (UT), Reps. Scott Perry (PA-10), Warren Davidson (OH-8), Lauren Boebert (CO-3), Bob Good (VA-5), Dan Bishop (NC-9), Andy Biggs (AZ-5), Jody Hice (GA-10), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Ken Buck (CO-4), Mary E. Miller (IL-15), Louie Gohmert (TX-1), Alex X. Mooney (WV-2), Matt Rosendale (MT-AL), Ralph Norman (SC-5), Bill Posey (FL-8), Clay Higgins (LA-3), Randy K. Weber (TX-14), Andrew Clyde (GA-9), Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. (AZ-4), Russ Fulcher (ID-1), Thomas Massie (KY-4), Barry Moore (AL-2), Brian Mast (FL-18), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Troy E. Nehls (TX-22), David Schweikert (AZ-6), Matt Gaetz (FL-1), Scott DesJarlais (TN-4), Tom Tiffany (WI-7), Brian Babin (TX-36), Dr. Michael Burgess (TX-26), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Ronny L. Jackson, M.D. (TX-13), Greg Steube (FL-17), Ted Budd (NC-9), Dan Crenshaw (TX-2), Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Lance Gooden (TX-5), Mo Brooks (AL-5), Kevin Hern (OK-1), Mark Green (TN-7), Ben Cline (VA-6), Byron Donalds (FL-19), Tim Burchett (TN-2)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s