Political outsider, successful business leader, and Republican nominee for governor Glenn Youngkin’s campaign announced massive support from Virginia’s law enforcement community with endorsements from 50 Sheriffs. Earlier today, Youngkin released an ad exposing McAuliffe as too dangerous and too extreme to tackle Virginia’s rising violent crime problem.

“I am honored to have the support of Virginia’s law enforcement community and look forward to working closely with them to make Virginia’s communities among the safest in the nation, not the most dangerous,” said Glenn Youngkin. “Terry McAuliffe has turned his back on law enforcement and embraced the most radical elements of his party that want to defund the police, abolish ICE, and close prisons.”  

“It wasn’t enough for Terry McAuliffe and his handpicked parole board to break the law and let certain violent criminals out of prison, now he and his allies want to defund the police and close ALL prisons. We need a candidate who backs the blue and will restore safety in our communities, and that candidate is Glenn Youngkin,” said Montgomery County Sheriff Charles “Hank” Partin. 

Youngkin has previously been endorsed by the Virginia Police Benevolent Association, which Terry McAuliffe refused to meet with.  

Virginia is at a crossroads: violent crime is skyrocketing and murders alone are at a 20-year high.  

When Terry McAuliffe was governor, his handpicked parole board members released violent criminals back into our communities, the rape rate increased every year, and the murder rate increased 43%. He also made it easier for felons to get guns.  

In recent months, McAuliffe announced his support for eliminating qualified immunity, which would make individual police officers vulnerable to frivolous lawsuits and to being personally bankrupted. 

Now, he’s embracing the endorsement of an extremist organization, New Virginia Majority, which advocates for defunding the police, wants to do away with all prisons, and abolish ICE.  

McAuliffe tweeted that he was “proud” to be endorsed by New Virginia Majority on July 20, 2021. McAuliffe also said he was “proud” to be endorsed by NARAL, which tweeted in April, “It’s past time to defund the police.” 

The full list of endorsements: 

  • Sheriff Blake Andis, Washington County 
  • Sheriff Mark Armentrout, Radford City 
  • Sheriff Mark Butler, Warren County 
  • Sheriff Tim Carter, Shenandoah County 
  • Sheriff Michael Chapman, Loudoun County 
  • Sheriff Winston W. Clark, III Campbell County 
  • Sheriff James Clarke, Jr. Isle of Wight County 
  • Sheriff Trevor Craddock, Craig County 
  • Sheriff Brian Craig, Floyd County 
  • Sheriff Chad Cubbage, Page County 
  • Sheriff David Decatur, Stafford County 
  • Sheriff J. D. “Danny” Diggs, York County 
  • Sheriff Jeff Edds, Scott County 
  • Sheriff Jeremy Fleming, Dickenson County 
  • Sheriff Charles Foster, Wythe County 
  • Sheriff Robert Hawkins, Mecklenburg County 
  • Sheriff Brian Hieatt, Tazewell County 
  • Sheriff Glendell Hill, Prince William County 
  • Sheriff David Hines, Hanover County 
  • Sheriff Darrell Hodges, Cumberland County 
  • Sheriff Bryan Hutcheson, Rockingham County 
  • Sheriff Scott Jenkins, Culpeper County  
  • Sheriff Kevin Kemp, Carroll County  
  • Sheriff W.G. “Billy” Kidd, Jr., Buckingham County 
  • Sheriff E. Grant Kilgore, Wise County 
  • Sheriff Karl Leonard, Chesterfield County 
  • Sheriff Anthony Lippa, Caroline County 
  • Sheriff Donald (Donnie) Lowe, Louisa County 
  • Sheriff Patrick McCranie, Lancaster County 
  • Sheriff John McLanahan, Buchanan County 
  • Sheriff Michael Miller, Bedford County 
  • Sheriff W. Morgan Millirons, Giles County 
  • Sheriff Robert Mosier, Fauquier County 
  • Sheriff David Neil, Highland County 
  • Sheriff W. Q. “Bill” Overton Jr., Franklin County 
  • Sheriff Gary Parsons, Lee County 
  • Sheriff C. H. “Hank” Partin, Montgomery County 
  • Sheriff Robert Plecker, Bath County 
  • Sheriff Jason Ramsey, Bland County 
  • Sheriff Matthew Robertson, Staunton City 
  • Sheriff B. C. “Chip” Shuler, Smyth County 
  • Sheriff Donald Simpson, Appomattox County 
  • Sheriff Don Sloan, Lynchburg City 
  • Sheriff Steven Smith, Greene County 
  • Sheriff Kenneth Stolle, Virginia Beach City 
  • Sheriff Les Taylor, Winchester City 
  • Sheriff Richard Vaughan, Grayson County
  • Sheriff E. Viar, Amherst County
  • Sheriff Matthew Ward, Botetourt County
  • Sheriff Darrell Warren, Gloucester County

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s